Moving to Houston – Drivers License Information
Buckle up in Texas. Children up to nine, or shorter than 4-feet-9-inches, must be secured in an approved car seat. Texas law also requires people who drive in Texas to pay for any accidents they may cause. So, you must have and carry automobile liability insurance. The minimum liability limits are $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage per accident (30/60/25). You have 30 days to register your vehicle after establishing residency, which you can do at your local County Tax Office. Visit www.txdmv.gov.
New Texas residents who hold a driver’s license from another state, U.S. territory, Canadian province can legally drive for 90 days after establishing residency, but must get a Texas Driver’s License before that period ends. Visit www.dpstx.gov to
The Motorist Assistance Program (MAP) helps stranded motorists on Houston area roads. Offered by The Harris County Sheriff’s Department and METRO, specially marked MAP vehicles are available and equipped to handle minor emergencies. Call 713-225-5627.
Vehicle Registration: Two Steps, One Sticker
Vehicle registration must be renewed annually, and the vehicle must pass inspection in order to qualify for renewal. The blue-bordered registration sticker serves as a combined proof of registration and inspection with one expiration date.
Vehicles may be registered for license plates at district field offices in the county of residence. The cost is based on the model and year for cars and gross weight for trucks. Learn more at the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.